Skip to content

5 Largest and Smallest Provinces of Cambodia

    Nestled in Southeast Asia, Cambodia boasts a diverse landscape that encompasses expansive low-lying plains, the meandering Mekong Delta, majestic mountains, and a picturesque Gulf of Thailand coastline. Covering a total land area of 181,035 square kilometers, the country is a tapestry of geographical wonders. As we delve into Cambodia’s administrative divisions, let’s explore both its grandeur and intricacies by identifying the five largest and five smallest provinces that contribute to the nation’s rich and varied topography.

    5 Largest Provinces:

    • Preah Vihear Province: Around 13,788 square kilometers.
    • Ratanakiri Province: Approximately 10,782 square kilometers.
    • Mondulkiri Province: Roughly 14,288 square kilometers.
    • Battambang Province: About 11,702 square kilometers.
    • Koh Kong Province: Approximately 11,160 square kilometers.

    5 Smallest Provinces and Capital City

    • Kep Province: Known for its coastal location, Kep is the smallest province in Cambodia with an area of about 336 square kilometers.
    • Phnom Penh: While not a province, Phnom Penh is the capital city and has the smallest administrative division in Cambodia with an area of about 679 square kilometers.
    • Takéo Province: Located in the southern part of Cambodia, Takéo is one of the smaller provinces with an area of about 3,563 square kilometers.
    • Kandal Province: Situated in the central part of the country, Kandal is relatively small compared to some other provinces with an area of about 3,008 square kilometers.
    • Kampong Chhnang Province: Known for its floating villages, Kampong Chhnang is one of the smaller provinces in Cambodia with an area of about 5,521 square kilometers.