Skip to content

Weight Classes

Title: Understanding Weight Classes in Boxing and Combat Sports

Weight classes are a fundamental aspect of combat sports like boxing, providing a structured framework for fair matchups based on fighters’ size and weight. From the lightning-fast agility of the strawweights to the raw power of the heavyweights, each weight class offers its own unique challenges and opportunities for athletes to showcase their skills.

How Weight Classes Work in Boxing

Weight classes are utilized to categorize boxers based on their weights, aiming to ensure fair fights in terms of stature among fighters of similar heights and ages. Generally, it’s easier for older fighters to move up weight classes due to factors like increased bone density and retained muscle mass. Each weight division, except for the heavyweight class, has upper and lower limits.

Boxing Weight Divisions (in Kilograms)

There are traditional divisions, along with newer ones like the bridgerweight division, which fits between cruiserweight and heavyweight. Below are descriptions of some common weight classes:

  1. Strawweight (45-52kg): This is the lightest weight class in many combat sports, including MMA, Mas Fight, boxing, and Kun Khmer. Strawweight fighters exhibit remarkable agility and speed.
  2. Flyweight (52-57kg): Slightly heavier than strawweight, flyweight fighters are known for their speed and agility, making for dynamic bouts.
  3. Bantamweight (57-61kg): Bantamweight fights are characterized by their fast-paced and technical nature.
  4. Featherweight (61-66kg): Featherweight fighters strike a balance between speed, power, and endurance.
  5. Lightweight (66-70kg): One of the most popular and competitive weight classes, lightweight fighters possess skill and agility.
  6. Welterweight (70-77kg): Welterweight fighters are versatile, combining speed, power, and endurance.
  7. Middleweight (77-84kg): Middleweight fighters showcase a combination of strength and agility, resulting in intense and dynamic fights.
  8. Light Heavyweight (84-93kg): Known for their power and striking ability, light heavyweight fighters bring excitement to the ring.
  9. Heavyweight (93kg or more): Heavyweight fighters possess immense power and knockout potential, making for thrilling matchups.
  10. Super Heavyweight: In some sports, fighters weighing over a certain threshold, usually around 120kg or more, compete in the super heavyweight division, showcasing incredible size and strength.


Rakim weighing at Town HDTV

Boxing Weigh-In Rules

Weigh-ins occur the day before a fight to ensure both athletes are within the pre-agreed weight limit. Boxers may attempt to shed weight rapidly before a fight, often through dehydration, to gain a size and weight advantage. Some governing bodies have regulations limiting how much weight a fighter can gain after the weigh-in.

Rehydration clauses restrict the weight gain of boxers between the weigh-in and the start of the fight, aiming to mitigate the health risks associated with extreme weight loss and prevent unfair advantages.

Catchweights allow fighters to agree to non-traditional weight limits for various reasons, such as accommodating reluctant fighters or salvaging a fight when one participant fails to make weight.


Weight classes play a crucial role in ensuring fairness and safety in combat sports, providing a structured framework for competitive matchups. From the lowest strawweights to the heaviest heavyweights, each division showcases a unique blend of skills and attributes, shaping the landscape of modern combat sports.